





Avy Award Winners — 1985

(for breeding accomplishments in 1984)

U.S. First Breeding Awards

Brown-headed parrot Fred and Robbie Harris Red-faced lovebird Wayne and Charlotte Offerman D'arnaud's barbet Lawrence and Clarissa Cook White-collared mynah Lindsay Clack African grey hornbill Lindsay Clack Chestnut-bellied starling Lindsay Clack Weber's lory Jan R. van Ooosten Bill de la Mare Red-billed toucan Jerry Jennings Spot-billed toucanet Jerry Jennings Red-bellied macaw Rayburn and Norene Smith Black-bellied fire finch Riverbanks Zoological Park Bar-breasted fire finch John and Kristin Round Bronze-winged pionus Stan and Fay Carpenter John Roberts Blue-eyed cockatoo Gloria Allen Hooded pitta Philadelphia Zoo/Larry Shelton Orange-bellied euphonia Philadelphia Zoo/Larry Shelton Caninde macaw Kevin Clubb Scott Riviere Fred Cubbedge Muller's parrot

Silver Avy Awards

Kay K. Muser

M.D. Moll

Category III - for most progress with color mutations and pied Indian ringnecks

Jaynee Salan

Category I - for species establishment

Category I - for species establishment of the Pacific parrotlet

Jack and Connie Brooks

Category IV - for show standards

Carter Atwood

Zoo Category

Category I - for establishing captive bred penguins

Sea World, Frank Todd,

Scott Drieschman, Frank Twoby

Category II - most progress with an individual species using good management techniques for Emperor penguins

Sea World, Frank Todd, Scott Drieschman, Frank Twoby

Avy Appreciation Awards

(for outstanding contribution and leadership)

Glen Gibson, National Cockatiel Society

Charlie and Lorene Shepard, Arizona Avicultural Society/ Arizona Budgerigar Society Charles E. Clift,

Charles E. Cuft,
Central Alabama Avicultural
Society

Gold Award

(once in a lifetime for outstanding contribution to aviculture) Frank Todd, California Game Breeders Association

Watchbird Awards

(fine articles with photo support, 1984)

Debra Argel, "From Antarctica to San Diego by Egg" Ramon P. Noegel, "First Captive Breeding of the Dusky Pionus"

Bronze Avy Awards

Phyllis K. Martin
For Outstanding Service as
Chairman of the 1984 National
Convention

Joe McLaughlin For Outstanding Service as

For Outstanding Service as Chairman of Membership Promotion

Gary Lilienthal

For Outstanding Service as Legal Counsel

Darel Cavender

For Outstanding Service as Chairman of Speakers' Committee

Visitors Welcome
By Prior Appointment Only

Certificates of Appreciation

Walter Willoughby

In appreciation of his efforts as State Coordinator of Connecticut in preventing the passage of legislation inimical to aviculture.

Central Alabama Aviculture Society In appreciation of their generosity and continued support of A.F.A. and its programs.

Dick Schroeder

In appreciation of his efforts as State Coordinator in promoting A.F.A. and disseminating useful information to bird owners.

President's Award

Gary Lilienthal

Phyllis Martin Membership **Promotion Award**

Bill Wilson

Manning the A.F.A. booth (L to R), Tom Marshall, Dick Dickinson and Jim Coffman try their salesmanship with Darel Cavender.



The winner of the new car was a lucky Sharon Garsee, North Highlands, CA. W.W. "Woody" Coffman presented the keys.

The convention committee members distinguished themselves with "hard to miss" green jackets. L to R, Jim Coffman, convention chairman; Lee Phillips, outgoing president, and Larry Swan, speaker moderator.



Tom Marshall, far left, and Al Howard, raffle chairman, far right, make their contributions to the drawing barrel.



